Overheard in a Lovers Quarrel

They didn’t know…
But I was listening,
I could hear every heavy word,
As she sheltered her eyes from view,
I blushed,
As he proclaimed his love,
Thinking to myself,
What does this Neanderthal know of love,
The way he berates her,
I would not do that to you…
Don’t you know?

They didn’t know…
But I was listening,
Her sobs like knives in my punctured soul,
As I wanted to reach out to her,
I longed to reach out to her,
Letting her know,
Love can be another way,
Love is another way,
As he proclaimed that he didn’t know why he’d done it,
I wondered,
Why does any person act this way,
Shattering the joy of love,
With empty words,
That cannot reconcile,
With his actions,
Don’t you know?

They didn’t know…
But I was listening,
Her eyes reddened by this ripe cancelation,
Divorce imminent,
Torment riddled existence,
As she asked herself why,
Why,
Though there would be no answer,
There could be no answer,
With me,
You would not need an answer,
For I am loyal,
Don’t you know?
They didn’t know…
That as I listened I was cringing,
Taken aback by the abandonment of love,
The abandonment of her,
For the momentary gain of lust,
He claimed it was an accident,
He claimed it meant nothing,
He claimed it was a one time thing,
And I still cringed,
As there was nothing,
Ever,
That could subtract her pain,
In the addition of another,
Meaningless or not,
Betrayal,
Don’t you know?

They didn’t know…
As he stepped up from the table,
Paying the bill,
That I knew,
I was there,
I witnessed this terrible break in her reality,
And I knew,
As she lifted her head with untapped strength,
There would be no way to reconcile,
This ‘meaningless’ indiscretion,
She didn’t know,
That love, real love,
That can be everything,
Makes no excuses,
Don’t you know?

And I wished,
I could outstretch my hand and my soul,
To take away her pain,
With real love.

SDM

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

