Byron Once Wrote

Byron once wrote;

“Sorrow is knowledge, those that know the most must mourn the deepest, and the tree of knowledge is not the tree of life.”

I have sat underneath the tree of knowledge all my life,
Imagining as I have,
The banyan tree appearance of it,
How every root,
Every branch, every leaf,
And every single atom contains something from which I could and still do learn,
While sitting there,
Day after day,
Night after night,
Lit only by the unbelievable fire flies,
Of my minds creation,
As big as balloons,
This is where I first learned of sorrow,
Deep within my soul,
Reading words that touched me as if I had been shot,
Or stabbed,
Was in a car wreck,
Or crashed in a plane,
Words on pages made of bark,
Words that revealed more to me in my formative years than I recommend,
Delivering me from myself,
Only to reveal a darker self,
A self that felt empathy in a way that no human should,
A self that was and is consumed by sorrow,
Sorrow for the world the way I see it,
Sorrow for the way the world is,
A profound and unsettling disdain,
For the corruption of our world,
By unscrupulous and usurious leaders,
Those contemptibly pretend that our systems work,
That they are the best way,
Under that tree I read Twain and Shakespeare,
Plato, Aristotle and Socrates,
Thomas and Whitman, Kahil Gibran and Harriet Beecher Stowe,
Dickens and Wilde, Burns and Tennyson,
I read the Bible, the Torah and the Koran,
Just to name but a few,
I read everything I could get my hands on,
Believing that by doing this,
I could in some way,
Make the world better,
That I would discover from this tree,
The secret that would undo the burning of the Library at Alexandria,
That somehow, someway, someday,
I could uncover that piece of the puzzle that is missing,
In all this reading I came to discover,
What life is,
And I started living in a way that worked for me,
The Tree of Life,
What I now pursued with every step,
Hoping that I may find a way to bridge the gap between knowledge and life,
For the two are clearly not the same,
Though,
With knowledge I believed that your life should be better,
Could be better,
Was better,
In pursuit of life,
I have actively pursued life each and every day of my own,
Again,
Hoping that if I could uncover the secret to living life,
That I could somehow make the world a better place,
I long for the world to be better than it is,
I long for it to be a world of peace,
A world where we finally discover that we all are the same,
There is no difference,
And from that position,
Accepted,
That we all could finally find the harmony,
The universal resonance of our souls uniting,
Revealing the true beauty of the trees of knowledge and life,
What is the secret?

SDM

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Byron Once Wrote

  1. ghostom


    maybe the secret is accepting and enjoying the disparity?

Leave a Reply

